The Republic of Azerbaijan, located in Southwestern Asia, borders the Caspian Sea, between Iran and Russia. Azerbaijan gained its independence in 1991, following the collapse of the Soviet Union and the passage of a referendum in favor of independence, which passed with over ninety eight percent of those who voted in support of it. However, Azerbaijan is still involved in a two decade long conflict involving Armenia. As of 2011, Azerbaijan’s population has reached nine million– most recent census studies estimate the population to be 9,686,210. In regard to religion, Muslim citizens account for 91% percent of the population. Politically, following its independence, Azerbaijan refers to itself as a democratic republic, containing a civil law system headed by three branches: executive, legislative, and judiciary. Its Constitution was adopted on November 12, 1995, and has been amended in 1996, 2002, and 2009. Azerbaijan also grants universal suffrage to all citizens age eighteen or over.

General Information
Official Name: 
Republic of Azerbaijan, Azərbaycan Respublikası
Geographic Region: 
Western Asia
Geographic Size (km sq): 
Year of UN Membership: 
Year of Present State Formation: 
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal): 
$79.363 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted): 
$11,676 (CID)
GDP Growth: 
5.80 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI): 
Gini Index (Income Inequality): 
Economic Grouping: 
Developing Country
Landlocked Developing Country
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses: 
Group of 77 (G-77)
Eastern European Group
Islamic Group
Major International & Regional Organizations: 
ADB: Asian Development Bank
BSEC: Black Sea Economic Cooperation Zone
CD: Community of Democracies
CoEu: Council of Europe
CICA: Conference of Interaction and Confidence-Building Measures in Asia
CIS: Commonwealth of Independent States
EAPC: Euro-Atlantic Partnership Council
EBRD: European Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ECO: Economic Cooperation Organization
EITI: Extractive Industry Transparency Initiative
GCTU: General Confederation of Trade Unions
GUAM: Organization for Democracy and Economic Development
ICC: International Chamber of Commerce
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IDB: Islamic Development Bank
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IOM: International Organization for Migration
IPU: Inter-Parliamentary Union
ISO: International Organization for Standardization
ITSO: International Telecommunications Satellite Organization
ITUC: International Trade Union Confederation
OAS: Organization of American States
OIC: Organization of Islamic Cooperation
OSCE: Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe
PFP: Partnership for Peace
SELEC: Convention of the Southeast European Law Enforcement Center
WCO: World Customs Organization
WFTU: World Federation of Trade Unions
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations: 
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IAEA: International Atomic Energy Agency
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
ICSID: International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes
IDA: International Development Association
IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
IFC: International Finance Corporation
ILO: International Labor Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
IMO: International Maritime Organization
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
OPCW: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNIDO: United Nations Industrial Development Organization
UNWTO: United Nations World Tourism Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization
WMO: World Meteorological Organization
WTO: World Trade Organization
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
866 United Nations Plaza, Suite 560
New York, NY 10017
(212) 371-2559
(212) 371-2784
Nearest Transit Stop: 
Grand Central 42nd Street

View Another Country