The Republic of Botswana, since it’s independence from Great Britain in 1966, has had consistently one of the most prosperous economies in Africa with one of the most stable political climates. It is a landlocked country in southern Africa, sharing borders with Namibia, Zimbabwe, and South Africa. Botswana is a constitutional republic with a multiparty system. They have an executive branch, headed by President Ian Khama, and a legislative branch. The most popular political party is the Botswana Democratic Party. The country is also rich in natural resources, specifically diamonds and it actually has one of the largest diamond mines in the world, and the mineral industry makes up about 40% of all of government revenue.

General Information
Official Name: 
Republic of Botswana, Lefatshe la Botswana
English, Setswana
Geographic Region: 
Southern Africa
Geographic Size (km sq): 
Year of UN Membership: 
Year of Present State Formation: 
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal): 
$15.112 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted): 
$17,106 (CID)
GDP Growth: 
3.90 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI): 
Gini Index (Income Inequality): 
Economic Grouping: 
Developing Country
Landlocked Developing Country
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses: 
Group of 77 (G-77)
Non-Aligned Movement (NAM)
African Group
Major International & Regional Organizations: 
ACP: African, Caribbean, and Pacific Group of States
AfDB: African Development Bank
AU: African Union
Commonwealth of Nations (British)
CD: Community of Democracies
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IOM: International Organization for Migration
IPU: Inter-Parliamentary Union
ISO: International Organization for Standardization
ITSO: International Telecommunications Satellite Organization
ITUC: International Trade Union Confederation
SACU: Southern African Customs Union
SADC: Southern African Development Community
WCO: World Customs Organization
WFTU: World Federation of Trade Unions
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations: 
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IAEA: International Atomic Energy Agency
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
ICSID: International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes
IDA: International Development Association
IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
IFC: International Finance Corporation
ILO: International Labor Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
OPCW: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNIDO: United Nations Industrial Development Organization
UNWTO: United Nations World Tourism Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization
WMO: World Meteorological Organization
WTO: World Trade Organization
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
154 East 46th Street
New York, NY 10017
(212) 889-2277/2331/2491/2772
(212) 725-5061

View Another Country