Cameroon is situated in the west Central Africa region. Known as “”Africa in miniature””, Cameroon is home to over 200 different linguistic groups. The “”Sao”” were one of the first civilisation of the country, living around Lake Chad; another notable population that inhabitated Cameroon were the Baka hunter-gatherers in the southeastern rainforest. In the 15th century, portuguese explorers renamed the area “”Rio dos Camarões”” (Shrimp River), which eventually changed into Cameroon when translated in English. Cameroon became a German colony in 1884 known as Kamerun. After World War I, the territory was divided between France and Britain as League of Nations mandates.

General Information
Official Name: 
Republic of Cameroon, République du Cameroun
French, English
Geographic Region: 
Middle Africa
Geographic Size (km sq): 
Year of UN Membership: 
Year of Present State Formation: 
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal): 
$30.875 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted): 
$2,514 (CID)
GDP Growth: 
4.60 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI): 
Gini Index (Income Inequality): 
Economic Grouping: 
Developing Country
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses: 
Group of 77 (G-77)
Non-Aligned Movement (NAM)
African Group
Islamic Group
Major International & Regional Organizations: 
ACP: African, Caribbean, and Pacific Group of States
AfDB: African Development Bank
AU: African Union
BDEAC: Central African States Development Bank
Commonwealth of Nations (British)
CEMAC / UNDEAC: Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa
EITI: Extractive Industry Transparency Initiative
FZ: Franc Zone
ICC: International Chamber of Commerce
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IDB: Islamic Development Bank
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
IHO: International Hydrographic Organization
IMSO: International Mobile Satellite Organization
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IOM: International Organization for Migration
IPU: Inter-Parliamentary Union
ISO: International Organization for Standardization
ITSO: International Telecommunications Satellite Organization
ITUC: International Trade Union Confederation
OIC: Organization of Islamic Cooperation
OIF: Organisation internationale de la Francophonie
PCA: Permanent Court of Arbitration
WCO: World Customs Organization
WFTU: World Federation of Trade Unions
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations: 
CD: Conference on Disarmament
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IAEA: International Atomic Energy Agency
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
ICSID: International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes
IDA: International Development Association
IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
IFC: International Finance Corporation
ILO: International Labor Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
IMO: International Maritime Organization
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
OPCW: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNIDO: United Nations Industrial Development Organization
UNWTO: United Nations World Tourism Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization
WMO: World Meteorological Organization
WTO: World Trade Organization
Current UN Peacekeeping Missions: 
MONUSCO: UN Stabilisation Mission in the Democratic Republic of the Congo
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
22 East 73rd Street
New York, NY 10021
(212) 794-2295/2296/2297/2298/2299
(212) 249-0533

View Another Country