The former French colony officially became the Central African Republic in 1960 upon independence. Located in Central Africa and approximately 622,984 sq km, the country borders Cameroon, Chad, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, the Republic of the Congo, South Sudan, and Sudan. Following an extensive history of political turmoil the interim president, the National Transitional Council elected Catherine Sambra-Panza in January 2014 as Chief of State. And the Interim Prime Minister is Andre Nzapayeke following the resignation of Nicolas Tiangaye.

General Information
Official Name: 
Central African Republic, Ködörösêse tî Bêafrîka, République centrafricaine
French, Sangho, tribal languages
Geographic Region: 
Middle Africa
Geographic Size (km sq): 
Year of UN Membership: 
Year of Present State Formation: 
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal): 
$1.688 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted): 
$548 (CID)
GDP Growth: 
-15.40 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI): 
Gini Index (Income Inequality): 
Economic Grouping: 
Developing Country
Landlocked Developing Country
Least Developed Country
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses: 
Group of 77 (G-77)
Non-Aligned Movement (NAM)
African Group
Islamic Group
Major International & Regional Organizations: 
ACP: African, Caribbean, and Pacific Group of States
AfDB: African Development Bank
AU: African Union
BDEAC: Central African States Development Bank
CEMAC / UNDEAC: Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa
EITI: Extractive Industry Transparency Initiative
FZ: Franc Zone
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IOM: International Organization for Migration
ITSO: International Telecommunications Satellite Organization
ITUC: International Trade Union Confederation
OIC: Organization of Islamic Cooperation
OIF: Organisation internationale de la Francophonie
WCO: World Customs Organization
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations: 
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IAEA: International Atomic Energy Agency
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
ICSID: International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes
IDA: International Development Association
IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
IFC: International Finance Corporation
ILO: International Labor Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
OPCW: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNIDO: United Nations Industrial Development Organization
UNWTO: United Nations World Tourism Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization
WMO: World Meteorological Organization
WTO: World Trade Organization
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
51 Clifton Avenue, Suite 2008
Newark, NJ 07104
(973) 482-9161
(973) 482-9161

View Another Country