The Republic of Chile is located in the southwest region of the South American continent. Recognizable for its narrow shape, Chile borders the states of Bolivia, Argentina, and Peru. While Chile obtained independence from Spain in 1810, its current constitutional republic, headed by the current president Sebastián Piñera, dates to its Constitution of 1980. With an area of over 290,000 square miles and a population of over 18,000,000, Chile has overcome the political turbulence of the 20th century, in particular the legacy of the Pinochet regime, and is now recognized as one of the most stable democracies in the region.

General Information
Official Name: 
Republic of Chile, República de Chile
Geographic Region: 
South America
Geographic Size (km sq): 
Year of UN Membership: 
Year of Present State Formation: 
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal): 
$263.115 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted): 
$19,887 (CID)
GDP Growth: 
4.40 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI): 
Gini Index (Income Inequality): 
Economic Grouping: 
Developing Country
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses: 
Group of 77 (G-77)
Non-Aligned Movement (NAM)
Latin America Group
Major International & Regional Organizations: 
ALADI/LAIA: Latin American Integration Association
APEC: Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation
BIS: Bank for International Settlements
CAN/ACN: Andean Community of Nations
CD: Community of Democracies
CELAC: Community of Latin American and Caribbean States
IADB: Inter-American Development Bank
ICC: International Chamber of Commerce
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
IHO: International Hydrographic Organization
IMSO: International Mobile Satellite Organization
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IOM: International Organization for Migration
IPU: Inter-Parliamentary Union
ISO: International Organization for Standardization
ITSO: International Telecommunications Satellite Organization
ITUC: International Trade Union Confederation
LAES/SELA: Latin American and Caribbean Economic System
MercoSur: Southern Common Market
OAS: Organization of American States
OECD: Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
OPANAL: Agency for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America and the Caribbean
Pacific Alliance
PCA: Permanent Court of Arbitration
SICA: Central American Integration System
UNASUR: Union of South American Nations
Union Latina
WCO: World Customs Organization
WFTU: World Federation of Trade Unions
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations: 
CD: Conference on Disarmament
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IAEA: International Atomic Energy Agency
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
ICSID: International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes
IDA: International Development Association
IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
IFC: International Finance Corporation
ILO: International Labor Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
IMO: International Maritime Organization
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
OPCW: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNIDO: United Nations Industrial Development Organization
UNWTO: United Nations World Tourism Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization
WMO: World Meteorological Organization
WTO: World Trade Organization
Current UN Peacekeeping Missions: 
MINUSTAH: UN Stabilization Mission in Haiti
UNFICYP: United Nations Peacekeeping Force in Cyprus
UNMOGIP: UN Military Observer Group in India and Pakistan
UNTSO: United Nations Truce Supervision Organisation, Middle East
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
One Dag Hammarskjöld Plaza 885 Second Avenue, 40th Floor
New York, NY 10017
(917) 322-6800
(917) 322-6890

View Another Country