The Comoros (/ˈkɒməroʊz/; Arabic: جزر القمر‎, Juzur al-Qumur / Qamar, officially the Union of the Comoros, is an archipelago island in the Indian Ocean. The capital city of Comoros is Moroni. Comoros is located near Mozambique, Madagascar, Tanzania, and Seychelles. Comoros achieved independence from France on 6 July 1975 and has since experienced more than 20 coups d’etat.

General Information
Official Name: 
Union of the Comoros, Union des Comores, Udzima wa Komori, الاتحاد القمري (al-Ittiḥād al-Qumurī / Qamarī)
Arabic, French, Comoran/Shikomoro (blend of Swahili and Arabic)
Geographic Region: 
Eastern Africa
Geographic Size (km sq): 
Year of UN Membership: 
Year of Present State Formation: 
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal): 
$0.707 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted): 
$1,331 (CID)
GDP Growth: 
3.50 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI): 
Economic Grouping: 
Developing Country
Least Developed Country
Small Island Developing State
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses: 
Group of 77 (G-77)
Non-Aligned Movement (NAM)
African Group
Islamic Group
Major International & Regional Organizations: 
ACP: African, Caribbean, and Pacific Group of States
AfDB: African Development Bank
AMF: Arab Monetary Fund
AOSIS: Alliance of Small Island States
AU: African Union
CAEU: Council of Arab Economic Unity
COMESA: Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa
FZ: Franc Zone
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IDB: Islamic Development Bank
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
IMSO: International Mobile Satellite Organization
InOC: Indian Ocean Commission
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IOM: International Organization for Migration
ITSO: International Telecommunications Satellite Organization
ITUC: International Trade Union Confederation
LAS/AL: League of Arab States, aka Arab League
OIC: Organization of Islamic Cooperation
OIF: Organisation internationale de la Francophonie
WCO: World Customs Organization
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations: 
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IAEA: International Atomic Energy Agency
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
ICSID: International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes
IDA: International Development Association
IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
IFC: International Finance Corporation
ILO: International Labor Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
IMO: International Maritime Organization
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
OPCW: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNIDO: United Nations Industrial Development Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization
WMO: World Meteorological Organization
WTO: World Trade Organization
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
866 United Nations Plaza, Suite 418
New York, NY 10017
(212) 750-1637
(212) 750-1657

View Another Country