The Republic of the Congo is located in on the west coast of sub-Saharan Africa. The nation has a very small coast line along the Atlantic. The Republic of the Congo is bordered by Gabon to the northwest, Cameroon and the Central African Republic to the north, the Democratic Republic of Congo to the East, and Gabon to the South. Upon gaining its independence from France in 1960, Congo followed a Communist form of government until 1990; a Democratic government was established in 1992. In 1997 a civil war broke out, returning the Marxist president Denis Sassou-Nguesso to power; however the country still operates as a republic. Congo is the 64th largest country in the world, and is comparatively slightly smaller than the state of Montana.

General Information
Official Name:
Republic of the Congo
French, Hausa, Fulfude, Gourmanchem, Kanuri, Zarma
Geographic Region:
Middle Africa
Geographic Size (km sq):
Year of UN Membership:
Year of Present State Formation:
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal):
$14.705 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted):
$5,145 (CID)
GDP Growth:
5.80 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI):
Gini Index (Income Inequality):
Economic Grouping:
Developing Country
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses:
Group of 77 (G-77)
Non-Aligned Movement (NAM)
African Group
Major International & Regional Organizations:
ACP: African, Caribbean, and Pacific Group of States
AfDB: African Development Bank
AU: African Union
BDEAC: Central African States Development Bank
CEMAC / UNDEAC: Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa
EITI: Extractive Industry Transparency Initiative
FZ: Franc Zone
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IOM: International Organization for Migration
IPU: Inter-Parliamentary Union
ISO: International Organization for Standardization
ITSO: International Telecommunications Satellite Organization
ITUC: International Trade Union Confederation
OIF: Organisation internationale de la Francophonie
WCO: World Customs Organization
WFTU: World Federation of Trade Unions
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations:
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IAEA: International Atomic Energy Agency
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
ICSID: International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes
IDA: International Development Association
IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
IFC: International Finance Corporation
ILO: International Labor Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
IMO: International Maritime Organization
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
OPCW: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNIDO: United Nations Industrial Development Organization
UNWTO: United Nations World Tourism Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization
WMO: World Meteorological Organization
WTO: World Trade Organization
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
14 East, 65 Street
New York, NY 10065
(212) 744-7840/ 744-7841
(212) 832-6558

View Another Country