The Democratic Republic of the Congo is a large republic in Central Africa that attained independence from Belgium in 1960. With a population of more than 77 million and an area of 2.3 million square km, it is the 20th most populous and 11th largest country in the world. It is bordered by Angola in the southwest, Burundi and Rwanda in the east, the Central African Republic in the north, the Republic of Congo in the west, Zambia in the south, Tanzania in the east, and South Sudan in the northeast.

General Information
Official Name: 
Republic of the Congo, République du Congo, formerly the Republic of Zaire & République du Zaïre
French, Lingala, Kikongo, Swahili, Tshiluba
Geographic Region: 
Middle Africa
Geographic Size (km sq): 
Year of UN Membership: 
Year of Present State Formation: 
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal): 
$32.998 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted): 
$694 (CID)
GDP Growth: 
6.20 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI): 
Economic Grouping: 
Developing Country
Least Developed Country
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses: 
Group of 77 (G-77)
Non-Aligned Movement (NAM)
African Group
Major International & Regional Organizations: 
ACP: African, Caribbean, and Pacific Group of States
AfDB: African Development Bank
AU: African Union
CEPGL: Economic Community of the Great Lakes Countries
COMESA: Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa
EITI: Extractive Industry Transparency Initiative
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
IHO: International Hydrographic Organization
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IOM: International Organization for Migration
IPU: Inter-Parliamentary Union
ISO: International Organization for Standardization
ITSO: International Telecommunications Satellite Organization
ITUC: International Trade Union Confederation
OIF: Organisation internationale de la Francophonie
PCA: Permanent Court of Arbitration
SADC: Southern African Development Community
WCO: World Customs Organization
WFTU: World Federation of Trade Unions
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations: 
CD: Conference on Disarmament
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IAEA: International Atomic Energy Agency
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
ICSID: International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes
IDA: International Development Association
IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
IFC: International Finance Corporation
ILO: International Labor Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
IMO: International Maritime Organization
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
OPCW: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNIDO: United Nations Industrial Development Organization
UNWTO: United Nations World Tourism Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization
WMO: World Meteorological Organization
WTO: World Trade Organization
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
866 United Nations Plaza, Suite 511
New York, NY 10017
(212) 319-8061
(212) 319-8232

View Another Country