The Republic of Equatorial Guinea is one of the smallest nations on the African continent—bordered by Gabon and Cameroon. Besides the mainland, the Republic of Equatorial Guinea is made up of five other islands, has a population of 722,254, and an area of 28,051 square kilometers. In 1968 the Republic of Equatorial Guinea gained independence from Spain. Officially, the Republic of Equatorial Guinea has been a constitutional democracy since 1991, but the president currently holds almost complete control of the nation.

General Information
Official Name: 
Republic of Equatorial Guinea, República de Guinea Ecuatorial, République de Guinée équatoriale, República da Guiné Equatorial
Spanish, French
Geographic Region: 
Middle Africa
Geographic Size (km sq): 
Year of UN Membership: 
Year of Present State Formation: 
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal): 
$15.540 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted): 
$22,525 (CID)
GDP Growth: 
-1.50 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI): 
Economic Grouping: 
Developing Country
Least Developed Country
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses: 
Group of 77 (G-77)
Non-Aligned Movement (NAM)
African Group
Major International & Regional Organizations: 
ACP: African, Caribbean, and Pacific Group of States
AfDB: African Development Bank
AU: African Union
BDEAC: Central African States Development Bank
CEMAC / UNDEAC: Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa
CPLP: Comuinidade dos Paises de Lingua Portuguesa
FZ: Franc Zone
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IPU: Inter-Parliamentary Union
ITSO: International Telecommunications Satellite Organization
OAS: Organization of American States
OIF: Organisation internationale de la Francophonie
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations: 
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
IDA: International Development Association
IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
IFC: International Finance Corporation
ILO: International Labor Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
IMO: International Maritime Organization
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
OPCW: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNIDO: United Nations Industrial Development Organization
UNWTO: United Nations World Tourism Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization
WTO: World Trade Organization
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
242 East 51st Street
New York, NY 10022
(212) 223-2324/2325/2348
(212) 223-2366

View Another Country