Republic of the Fiji Islands is a series of over eight hundred volcanic islands located in the Pacific ocean to the Northeast of Australia. The aggregate area of the islands spans 18,376 sq km (7,095 sq miles). Fiji is known as a beautiful tourist destination but the island has been experiencing serious political development and turmoil since 1987. Fiji gained independence from England in 1970, with Ratu Sir Kamisese Mara of the AP as prime minister.

General Information
Official Name: 
Republic of Fiji, Matanitu Tugalala o Viti, रिपब्लिक ऑफ फीजी (Ripablik ăph Phījī)
English, Fijian, Fijian Hindi
Geographic Region: 
Australia & New Zealand
Geographic Size (km sq): 
Year of UN Membership: 
Year of Present State Formation: 
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal): 
$4.206 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted): 
$5,254 (CID)
GDP Growth: 
3.00 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI): 
Economic Grouping: 
Developing Country
Small Island Developing State
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses: 
Group of 77 (G-77)
Asian Group
Major International & Regional Organizations: 
ACP: African, Caribbean, and Pacific Group of States
ADB: Asian Development Bank
AOSIS: Alliance of Small Island States
CP: Colombo Plan
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
IHO: International Hydrographic Organization
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
ISO: International Organization for Standardization
ITSO: International Telecommunications Satellite Organization
ITUC: International Trade Union Confederation
PCA: Permanent Court of Arbitration
PIF: Pacific Islands Forum
SPC: Secretariat of the Pacific Communities
WCO: World Customs Organization
WFTU: World Federation of Trade Unions
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations: 
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IAEA: International Atomic Energy Agency
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
ICSID: International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes
IDA: International Development Association
IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
IFC: International Finance Corporation
ILO: International Labor Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
IMO: International Maritime Organization
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
OPCW: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNIDO: United Nations Industrial Development Organization
UNWTO: United Nations World Tourism Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization
WMO: World Meteorological Organization
WTO: World Trade Organization
Current UN Peacekeeping Missions: 
UNMISS: UN Mission in the Republic of South Sudan
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
801 Second Avenue, 10th Floor
New York, NY 10017
(212) 687-4130
(212) 687-3963

View Another Country