Iran (/ɪˈrɑːn or /aɪˈræn/, Persian: ایران‎ [ʔiːˈɾɑn]), also known under its older name Persia, official name “The Islamic Republic of Iran” is a country in the Middle East, bordered by Armenia, Azerbaijan, Turkmenistan, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Turkey and Irak; over the Caspian Sea it is bordered with Russia and Kazakhstan. It has direct access to the Indian Ocean via the Persian Gulf in the south of the Country.
It has an area of 1,648,195 sq km, making it the 18th largest country in the world, and a population of 80,840,713 (July 2014 est.), making it the 19th most populated country on earth.

General Information
Official Name:
Islamic Republic of Iran, جمهوری اسلامی ایران (Jomhuri-ye Eslāmi-ye Irān)
Farsi, Arabic
Geographic Region:
Southern Asia
Geographic Size (km sq):
Year of UN Membership:
Year of Present State Formation:
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal):
$405.540 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted):
$12,478 (CID)
GDP Growth:
-1.50 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI):
Gini Index (Income Inequality):
Economic Grouping:
Developing Country
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses:
Group of 77 (G-77)
Non-Aligned Movement (NAM)
Islamic Group
Asian Group
Major International & Regional Organizations:
CICA: Conference of Interaction and Confidence-Building Measures in Asia
CP: Colombo Plan
D-8: Developing Eight
ECO: Economic Cooperation Organization
ICC: International Chamber of Commerce
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IDB: Islamic Development Bank
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
IHO: International Hydrographic Organization
IMSO: International Mobile Satellite Organization
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IOM: International Organization for Migration
IPU: Inter-Parliamentary Union
ISO: International Organization for Standardization
ITSO: International Telecommunications Satellite Organization
OIC: Organization of Islamic Cooperation
OPEC: Organization of Petroleum-Exporting Countries
PCA: Permanent Court of Arbitration
SAARC: South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation
SCO: Shanghai Cooperation Organisation
WCO: World Customs Organization
WFTU: World Federation of Trade Unions
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations:
CD: Conference on Disarmament
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IAEA: International Atomic Energy Agency
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
IDA: International Development Association
IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
IFC: International Finance Corporation
ILO: International Labor Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
IMO: International Maritime Organization
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
OPCW: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNIDO: United Nations Industrial Development Organization
UNWTO: United Nations World Tourism Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization
WMO: World Meteorological Organization
WTO: World Trade Organization
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
622 Third Avenue, 34th Floor
New York, NY 10017
(212) 687-2020
(212) 867-7086

View Another Country