Iraq (officially the Republic of Iraq) is a Middle Eastern nation bordered by the Persian Gulf as well as Iran, Jordan, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, Syria, and Turkey. The population is approximately 32.5 million, and the nation is 438,317 km, around three times the size of the state of New York. It is the 40th most populous and 59th largest nation in the world. Iraq is a parliamentary democracy that gained independence in 1932. The official religion of the nation is Islam.

General Information
Official Name: 
Republic of Iraq, جمهورية العـراق (Jumhūriyyat al-‘Irāq), كۆماری عێراق (Komar-i ‘Êraq)
Arabic, Kurdish
Geographic Region: 
Western Asia
Geographic Size (km sq): 
Year of UN Membership: 
Year of Present State Formation: 
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal): 
$248.333 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted): 
$7,703 (CID)
GDP Growth: 
4.20 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI): 
Economic Grouping: 
Developing Country
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses: 
Group of 77 (G-77)
Non-Aligned Movement (NAM)
Islamic Group
Arab Group
Asian Group
Major International & Regional Organizations: 
ABEDA: Arab Bank for Economic Development in Africa
AFESD: Arab Fund for Economic and Social Development
AMF: Arab Monetary Fund
CAEU: Council of Arab Economic Unity
CICA: Conference of Interaction and Confidence-Building Measures in Asia
EITI: Extractive Industry Transparency Initiative
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IDB: Islamic Development Bank
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
IMSO: International Mobile Satellite Organization
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IPU: Inter-Parliamentary Union
ISO: International Organization for Standardization
ITSO: International Telecommunications Satellite Organization
LAS/AL: League of Arab States, aka Arab League
OAPEC: Organization of Arab Petroleum Exporting Countries
OIC: Organization of Islamic Cooperation
OPEC: Organization of Petroleum-Exporting Countries
PCA: Permanent Court of Arbitration
WCO: World Customs Organization
WFTU: World Federation of Trade Unions
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations: 
CD: Conference on Disarmament
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IAEA: International Atomic Energy Agency
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
IDA: International Development Association
IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
IFC: International Finance Corporation
ILO: International Labor Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
IMO: International Maritime Organization
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
OPCW: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNIDO: United Nations Industrial Development Organization
UNWTO: United Nations World Tourism Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization
WMO: World Meteorological Organization
WTO: World Trade Organization
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
14 East 79th Street
New York, NY 10075
(212) 737-4433
(212) 772-1794/ 737-6265

View Another Country