Situated in an area that, according to the Hebrew Bible, was formerly occupied by the Kingdom of Israel and the Kingdom of Judah, Israel is a country of Western Asia.
Officially called State of Israel (Hebrew: מְדִינַת יִשְׂרָאֵל, Medīnat Yisrā’el; Arabic: دولة إِسرائيل‎, Dawlat Isrāʼīl), it is located on the southeastern shore of the Mediterranean sea. It shares land borders with Lebanon and Syria to the north, Jordan to the East, Egypt to the south and the Palestinian territories of West Bank to the east and Gaza strip to the southwest.
With an area of 20,770 sq km and a population of 8,146,300 people, 75.3% of whom are Jewish, Israel is the world’s only Jewish-majority state.
In spite of several wars with neighboring states, some of them ongoing, it achieved independence from Mandatory Palestine under British administration on 1 May 1949.

General Information
Official Name: 
State of Israel, מדינת ישראל‎ (Medīnat Yisrā'el), دولة إِسرائيل‎ (Dawlat Isrāʼīl)
Hebrew, Arabic, English
Geographic Region: 
Western Asia
Geographic Size (km sq): 
Year of UN Membership: 
Year of Present State Formation: 
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal): 
$305.707 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted): 
$35,659 (CID)
GDP Growth: 
3.30 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI): 
Gini Index (Income Inequality): 
Economic Grouping: 
Developed Country
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses: 
Western European and Others Group (WEOG)
Major International & Regional Organizations: 
BIS: Bank for International Settlements
BSEC: Black Sea Economic Cooperation Zone
CoEu: Council of Europe
CICA: Conference of Interaction and Confidence-Building Measures in Asia
EBRD: European Bank for Reconstruction and Development
IADB: Inter-American Development Bank
ICC: International Chamber of Commerce
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
IMSO: International Mobile Satellite Organization
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IOM: International Organization for Migration
IPU: Inter-Parliamentary Union
ISO: International Organization for Standardization
ITSO: International Telecommunications Satellite Organization
ITUC: International Trade Union Confederation
OAS: Organization of American States
OECD: Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
OSCE: Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe
Pacific Alliance
Paris Club
PCA: Permanent Court of Arbitration
SELEC: Convention of the Southeast European Law Enforcement Center
WCO: World Customs Organization
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations: 
CD: Conference on Disarmament
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IAEA: International Atomic Energy Agency
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
ICSID: International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes
IDA: International Development Association
IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
IFC: International Finance Corporation
ILO: International Labor Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
IMO: International Maritime Organization
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNIDO: United Nations Industrial Development Organization
UNWTO: United Nations World Tourism Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization
WMO: World Meteorological Organization
WTO: World Trade Organization
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
800 Second Avenue
New York, NY 10017
(212) 499-5510
(212) 499-5515

View Another Country