The State of Kuwait, or the Dawlat al-Kuwait, can be traced to the establishment of Kuwait City in the 18th century, and was declared officially independent in 1961, whereupon it joined the Arab League. Kuwait is a constitutional monarchy with an elected unitary parliamentary system of 17,820 square kilometers, located at the top of the Gulf, neighbored by Saudi Arabia to the south, Iraq to the north and Iran to the east. Kuwait was a major naval and trade hub that declined until the discovery of oil fields, a resource that has led Kuwait to be one of the richest countries of the world per capita. Kuwait was invaded and annexed by Iraq in 1990, whose military rule came to an end through a US and UN-led military intervention.

General Information
Official Name:
State of Kuwait, دولة الكويت (Dawlat al-Kuwait)
Kuwait City
Geographic Region:
Western Asia
Geographic Size (km sq):
Year of UN Membership:
Year of Present State Formation:
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal):
$183.200 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted):
$56,366 (CID)
GDP Growth:
2.30 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI):
Economic Grouping:
Developing Country
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses:
Group of 77 (G-77)
Non-Aligned Movement (NAM)
Islamic Group
Arab Group
Asian Group
Major International & Regional Organizations:
ABEDA: Arab Bank for Economic Development in Africa
AfDB: African Development Bank
AFESD: Arab Fund for Economic and Social Development
AMF: Arab Monetary Fund
BDEAC: Central African States Development Bank
CAEU: Council of Arab Economic Unity
CD: Community of Democracies
GCC: Gulf Cooperation Council
ICC: International Chamber of Commerce
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IDB: Islamic Development Bank
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
IHO: International Hydrographic Organization
IMSO: International Mobile Satellite Organization
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IPU: Inter-Parliamentary Union
ISO: International Organization for Standardization
ITSO: International Telecommunications Satellite Organization
ITUC: International Trade Union Confederation
LAS/AL: League of Arab States, aka Arab League
OAPEC: Organization of Arab Petroleum Exporting Countries
OIC: Organization of Islamic Cooperation
OPEC: Organization of Petroleum-Exporting Countries
Paris Club
PCA: Permanent Court of Arbitration
WCO: World Customs Organization
WFTU: World Federation of Trade Unions
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations:
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IAEA: International Atomic Energy Agency
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
ICSID: International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes
IDA: International Development Association
IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
IFC: International Finance Corporation
ILO: International Labor Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
IMO: International Maritime Organization
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
OPCW: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNIDO: United Nations Industrial Development Organization
UNWTO: United Nations World Tourism Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization
WMO: World Meteorological Organization
WTO: World Trade Organization
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
321 East 44th Street
New York, NY 10017
(212) 973-4300
(212) 370-1733

View Another Country