The Republic of Maldives is an island nation located in the Indian Ocean around the Arabian Sea. The nation consists of a double chain of twenty-six atolls that lie west of the southern-most tip of India and Sri Lanka. With the capital Malé, located at the southern edge of the North Malé Atoll, having a population of 103,693, the entire nation has a population of 393,595. In July of 1965, the Republic of Maldives gained independence under an agreement signed with the UK. After abolishing the sultanate, Maldivians created a republic after a national referendum in March of 1968. The government is structured in the framework of a democratic republic with a presidential representative, where the president is the head of government. The government exercises executive power. Each atoll has its own Atoll Council, which is elected by the Island councilors, which are elected by the people of each island.

General Information
Official Name: 
Republic of the Maldives, ދިވެހިރާއްޖޭގެ ޖުމްހޫރިއްޔާ, (Dhivehi Raajjeyge Jumhooriyya)
Geographic Region: 
Southern Asia
Geographic Size (km sq): 
Year of UN Membership: 
Year of Present State Formation: 
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal): 
$3.073 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted): 
$9,100 (CID)
GDP Growth: 
3.50 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI): 
Gini Index (Income Inequality): 
Economic Grouping: 
Developing Country
Small Island Developing State
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses: 
Group of 77 (G-77)
Non-Aligned Movement (NAM)
Islamic Group
Asian Group
Major International & Regional Organizations: 
ADB: Asian Development Bank
AOSIS: Alliance of Small Island States
Commonwealth of Nations (British)
CP: Colombo Plan
ICC: International Chamber of Commerce
IDB: Islamic Development Bank
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IOM: International Organization for Migration
IPU: Inter-Parliamentary Union
OIC: Organization of Islamic Cooperation
SAARC: South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation
SACEP: South Asia Co-operative Environment Program
WCO: World Customs Organization
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations: 
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
IDA: International Development Association
IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
IFC: International Finance Corporation
ILO: International Labor Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
IMO: International Maritime Organization
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
OPCW: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNIDO: United Nations Industrial Development Organization
UNWTO: United Nations World Tourism Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization
WMO: World Meteorological Organization
WTO: World Trade Organization
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
800 Second Avenue, Suite 400E
New York, NY 10017
(212) 599-6194/6195
(212) 661-6405

View Another Country