Mauritania is a country located in northwestern Africa, belonging to the Maghreb. A large portion of its territory is located in the Sahara desert. Mauritania borders with Senegal in the south, Mali in the south-east, Algeria and Western Sahara in the north and the Atlantic Ocean in the west. Formerly a French colony, it gained its Independence in 1960 and is currently a constitutional, semi-presidential republic. Its main economic focus is agriculture and the extraction of natural resources (mainly iron).

General Information
Official Name: 
Islamic Republic of Mauritania, الجمهورية الإسلامية الموريتانية (al-Jumhūriyyah al-ʾIslāmiyyah al-Mūrītāniyyah), République Islamique de Mauritanie
Arabic, Pulaar, Soninke, Wolof. Non-Recognised: French, Zenaga Berber
Geographic Region: 
Western Africa
Geographic Size (km sq): 
Year of UN Membership: 
Year of Present State Formation: 
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal): 
$4.451 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted): 
$2,349 (CID)
GDP Growth: 
6.40 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI): 
Gini Index (Income Inequality): 
Foreign Aid Recieved: 
$408.31Million (USD)
Economic Grouping: 
Developing Country
Least Developed Country
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses: 
Group of 77 (G-77)
Non-Aligned Movement (NAM)
African Group
Islamic Group
Arab Group
Major International & Regional Organizations: 
ABEDA: Arab Bank for Economic Development in Africa
ACP: African, Caribbean, and Pacific Group of States
AfDB: African Development Bank
AFESD: Arab Fund for Economic and Social Development
AMF: Arab Monetary Fund
AMU: Arab Maghreb Union
AU: African Union
CAEU: Council of Arab Economic Unity
EITI: Extractive Industry Transparency Initiative
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IDB: Islamic Development Bank
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
IHO: International Hydrographic Organization
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IOM: International Organization for Migration
IPU: Inter-Parliamentary Union
ISO: International Organization for Standardization
ITSO: International Telecommunications Satellite Organization
ITUC: International Trade Union Confederation
LAS/AL: League of Arab States, aka Arab League
OIC: Organization of Islamic Cooperation
OIF: Organisation internationale de la Francophonie
WCO: World Customs Organization
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations: 
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IAEA: International Atomic Energy Agency
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
ICSID: International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes
IDA: International Development Association
IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
IFC: International Finance Corporation
ILO: International Labor Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
IMO: International Maritime Organization
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
OPCW: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNIDO: United Nations Industrial Development Organization
UNWTO: United Nations World Tourism Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization
WMO: World Meteorological Organization
WTO: World Trade Organization
Current UN Peacekeeping Missions: 
MINUSMA: Multidimensional Integrated Stabilisation Mission in Mali
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
116 East 38th Street
New York, NY 10016
(212) 252-0113/0141
(212) 252-0175

View Another Country