Mexico, or the Mexican United States, is located in North America. It is bordered by the United States, the Pacific Ocean the Gulf of Mexico, and Guatemala. It is governed by a Federal Presidential Constitutional Republic, with a size of 1,972,550 square km. Mexico gained its independence from Spain on September 16, 1810.

General Information
Official Name: 
United Mexican States, Estados Unidos Mexicanos
Mexico City
Geographic Region: 
Central America
Geographic Size (km sq): 
Year of UN Membership: 
Year of Present State Formation: 
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal): 
$1,287.560 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted): 
$16,111 (CID)
GDP Growth: 
1.20 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI): 
Gini Index (Income Inequality): 
Foreign Aid Recieved: 
$417.81Million (USD)
Economic Grouping: 
Developing Country
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses: 
Latin America Group
Major International & Regional Organizations: 
APEC: Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation
BCIE: Central American Bank for Economic Integration
BIS: Bank for International Settlements
CAN/ACN: Andean Community of Nations
CariCom: Caribbean Community
CD: Community of Democracies
CDB: Caribbean Development Bank
CoEu: Council of Europe
CELAC: Community of Latin American and Caribbean States
UNASUL: Union of South American Nations
EBRD: European Bank for Reconstruction and Development
FATF: Financial Action Task Force
IADB: Inter-American Development Bank
ICC: International Chamber of Commerce
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
IHO: International Hydrographic Organization
IMSO: International Mobile Satellite Organization
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IOM: International Organization for Migration
IPU: Inter-Parliamentary Union
ISO: International Organization for Standardization
ITSO: International Telecommunications Satellite Organization
ITUC: International Trade Union Confederation
LAES/SELA: Latin American and Caribbean Economic System
ALADI/LAIA: Latin American Integration Association
NAFTA: North American Free Trade Agreement
NEA: Nuclear Energy Agency
OAS: Organization of American States
OECD: Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
OPANAL: Agency for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America and the Caribbean
Pacific Alliance
Paris Club
PCA: Permanent Court of Arbitration
SICA: Central American Integration System
UNASUR: Union of South American Nations
Union Latina
WCO: World Customs Organization
WFTU: World Federation of Trade Unions
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations: 
CD: Conference on Disarmament
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IAEA: International Atomic Energy Agency
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
IDA: International Development Association
IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
IFC: International Finance Corporation
ILO: International Labor Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
IMO: International Maritime Organization
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
OPCW: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNIDO: United Nations Industrial Development Organization
UNWTO: United Nations World Tourism Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization
WMO: World Meteorological Organization
WTO: World Trade Organization
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
Two United Nations Plaza, 28th Floor
New York, NY 10017
(212) 752-0220
(212) 752-0634

View Another Country