The Federated States of Micronesia are a compilation of the Caroline Islands that are widely scattered in the western Pacific Ocean. After WWII they became part of the UN after becoming a part of the United States control. The eastern most group of islands adopted a constitution in 1979. The western island group became Palau. Independence was in 1986 after signing the Compact of Free Association with the United States. This compact was recently amended in 2004.

General Information
Official Name: 
Federated States of Micronesia
Geographic Region: 
Geographic Size (km sq): 
Year of UN Membership: 
Year of Present State Formation: 
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal): 
$0.339 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted): 
$7,456 (CID)
GDP Growth: 
1.40 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI): 
Foreign Aid Recieved: 
$115.04Million (USD)
Economic Grouping: 
Developing Country
Small Island Developing State
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses: 
Group of 77 (G-77)
Asian Group
Major International & Regional Organizations: 
ACP: African, Caribbean, and Pacific Group of States
ADB: Asian Development Bank
AOSIS: Alliance of Small Island States
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IOM: International Organization for Migration
IPU: Inter-Parliamentary Union
ITSO: International Telecommunications Satellite Organization
PIF: Pacific Islands Forum
Sparteca: South Pacific Regional Trade and Economic Cooperation Agreement
SPC: Secretariat of the Pacific Communities
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations: 
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
ICSID: International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes
IDA: International Development Association
IFC: International Finance Corporation
IMF: International Monetary Fund
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
OPCW: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
WMO: World Meteorological Organization
WTO: World Trade Organization
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
300 East 42nd Street, Suite 1600
New York, NY 10017
(212) 697-8370
(212) 697-8295

View Another Country