Myanmar is located in Southeast Asia between Bangladesh and Thailand. It also borders the Andaman Sea and the Bay of Bengal. Myanmar received its independence in 1948 from the British Commonwealth. As of 2011, it is a parliamentary government. Myanmar is a moderately sized country, with a total area of 676,578 square kilometers, making it the 40th largest country in the world by area.

General Information
Official Name: 
Republic of the Union of Myanmar, Pyidaunzu Thanmăda Myăma Nainngandaw
Geographic Region: 
South-Eastern Asia
Geographic Size (km sq): 
Year of UN Membership: 
Year of Present State Formation: 
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal): 
$60.294 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted): 
$1,867 (CID)
GDP Growth: 
6.30 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI): 
Foreign Aid Recieved: 
$504.05Million (USD)
Economic Grouping: 
Developing Country
Least Developed Country
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses: 
Group of 77 (G-77)
Non-Aligned Movement (NAM)
Asian Group
Major International & Regional Organizations: 
ADB: Asian Development Bank
ARF: ASEAN Regional Forum
ASEAN: Association of Southeast Asian Nations
BIMSTEC: Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation
CP: Colombo Plan
EAS: East Asia Summit
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
IHO: International Hydrographic Organization
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IOM: International Organization for Migration
IPU: Inter-Parliamentary Union
ISO: International Organization for Standardization
ITUC: International Trade Union Confederation
SAARC: South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation
WCO: World Customs Organization
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations: 
CD: Conference on Disarmament
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IAEA: International Atomic Energy Agency
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
IDA: International Development Association
IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
IFC: International Finance Corporation
ILO: International Labor Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
IMO: International Maritime Organization
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNIDO: United Nations Industrial Development Organization
UNWTO: United Nations World Tourism Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization
WMO: World Meteorological Organization
WTO: World Trade Organization
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
10 East 77th Street
New York, NY 10021
(212) 744-1271/1275/1279
(212) 744-1290

View Another Country