The Republic of Nauru, formerly known as Pleasant Island, is the world’s smallest independent republic and is located in Micronesia in the South Pacific. With only 9,378 residents in an 8.1 square mile area, Nauru is the second smallest state by population in the world. Originally settled by Polynesian and Micronesian people, Nauru was annexed and claimed as a colony by the German Empire in the late 19th century. After World War I, Nauru became a League of Nations mandate. After being occupied by the Japanese during World War II, Nauru gained its independence in 1968. The current president, Baron Waqa, leads a 19-member unicameral parliament.

General Information
Official Name:
Republic of Nauru, Naoero
Yaren (unofficial)
Nauruan, English
Geographic Region:
Geographic Size (km sq):
Year of UN Membership:
Year of Present State Formation:
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal):
$0.037 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted):
$2,500 (CID)
GDP Growth:
20.20 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI):
Economic Grouping:
Developing Country
Small Island Developing State
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses:
Group of 77 (G-77)
Asian Group
Major International & Regional Organizations:
ACP: African, Caribbean, and Pacific Group of States
ADB: Asian Development Bank
AOSIS: Alliance of Small Island States
Commonwealth of Nations (British)
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IOM: International Organization for Migration
PIF: Pacific Islands Forum
Sparteca: South Pacific Regional Trade and Economic Cooperation Agreement
SPC: Secretariat of the Pacific Communities
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations:
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
OPCW: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WHO: World Health Organization
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
800 Second Avenue, Suite 400D
New York, NY 10017

View Another Country