The area of Russia has had a long a tumultuous history. What is now known as the Russian Federation emerged in the 12th century but was quickly under Mongolian control until the late 15th century. Modern Russian history began with the Romanov Empire, which not only vastly expanded Russian territory but westernized both its culture and structure of government. After the Communist revolution of the early 20th century the U.S.S.R existed for the majority of the century. Today Russia is the largest geographic country in the world extending from the Baltic to Bering seas. The Russian Federation is bordered by Ukraine, Belarus, Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia and Finland to the West. Georgia borders the country to the southwest; finally Kazakhstan and Mongolia, China and North Korea border the Russian Federation from the south. Today Russia has forgone democratic ambitions for a semi-authoritarian state headed by Vladimir Putin.

General Information
Official Name:
The Russian Federation
Russian, numerous dialects in autonomous or semi-autonomous regions
Geographic Region:
Eastern Europe
Geographic Size (km sq):
Year of UN Membership:
Year of Present State Formation:
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal):
$2,092.210 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted):
$18,408 (CID)
GDP Growth:
1.30 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI):
Gini Index (Income Inequality):
Economic Grouping:
Developing Country
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses:
Eastern European Group
Islamic Group
Major International & Regional Organizations:
APEC: Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation
Arctic Council
ARF: ASEAN Regional Forum
ASEAN: Association of Southeast Asian Nations
BIS: Bank for International Settlements
BSEC: Black Sea Economic Cooperation Zone
CBSS: Council of the Baltic Sea States
CD: Community of Democracies
CoEu: Council of Europe
CERN: European Organization for Nuclear Research
CICA: Conference of Interaction and Confidence-Building Measures in Asia
CIS: Commonwealth of Independent States
CSTO: Collective Security Treaty Organization
EAEC: Eurasian Economic Community
EAPC: Euro-Atlantic Partnership Council
EAS: East Asia Summit
EBRD: European Bank for Reconstruction and Development
FATF: Financial Action Task Force
GCTU: General Confederation of Trade Unions
ICC: International Chamber of Commerce
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
IHO: International Hydrographic Organization
IMSO: International Mobile Satellite Organization
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IOM: International Organization for Migration
IPU: Inter-Parliamentary Union
ISO: International Organization for Standardization
ITSO: International Telecommunications Satellite Organization
ITUC: International Trade Union Confederation
ALADI/LAIA: Latin American Integration Association
NSG: Nuclear Suppliers Group, aka London Group
OAS: Organization of American States
OIC: Organization of Islamic Cooperation
OSCE: Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe
Paris Club
PCA: Permanent Court of Arbitration
PFP: Partnership for Peace
SCO: Shanghai Cooperation Organisation
WCO: World Customs Organization
WFTU: World Federation of Trade Unions
ZC: Zangger Committee
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations:
CD: Conference on Disarmament
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IAEA: International Atomic Energy Agency
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
IDA: International Development Association
IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
IFC: International Finance Corporation
ILO: International Labor Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
IMO: International Maritime Organization
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
OPCW: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNIDO: United Nations Industrial Development Organization
UNWTO: United Nations World Tourism Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization
WMO: World Meteorological Organization
WTO: World Trade Organization
Current UN Peacekeeping Missions:
MINURSO: UN Mission for the Referendum in Western Sahara
MONUSCO: UN Stabilisation Mission in the Democratic Republic of the Congo
UNISFA: UN Interim Security Force for Abyei
UNMIL: United Nations Mission in Liberia
UNMISS: UN Mission in the Republic of South Sudan
UNOCI: United Nations Operation in Côte d’Ivoire
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
136 East 67th Street
New York NY 10065
(212) 861-4900
(212) 628-0252

View Another Country