The Republic of Rwanda is a country located in central Africa bordering with Uganda to the north, Tanzania to the east, Burundi to the south and Democratic Republic of Congo to the west. Being a rather small country with 26,338 square kilometers of land area, Rwanda has large water bodies and rich vegetation. It is a developing country that relies almost entirely on agriculture. Other economic activities include tourism and mineral processing. Rwanda gained independence from Belgium on July 1, 1962 after which the country had to face several ethnic conflicts and a civil war that led to a genocide in 1994. Rwanda is a presidential republic, with executive, legislative and judicial branches, and a multiparty system.

General Information
Official Name:
Republic of Rwanda
French, English and Kinyarwanda
Geographic Region:
Eastern Africa
Geographic Size (km sq):
Year of UN Membership:
Year of Present State Formation:
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal):
$8.058 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted):
$1,644 (CID)
GDP Growth:
7.50 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI):
Gini Index (Income Inequality):
Economic Grouping:
Developing Country
Landlocked Developing Country
Least Developed Country
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses:
Group of 77 (G-77)
Non-Aligned Movement (NAM)
African Group
Islamic Group
Major International & Regional Organizations:
ACP: African, Caribbean, and Pacific Group of States
AfDB: African Development Bank
AU: African Union
Commonwealth of Nations (British)
CEPGL: Economic Community of the Great Lakes Countries
COMESA: Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa
EAC: East African Community
EADB: East African Development Bank
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IOM: International Organization for Migration
IPU: Inter-Parliamentary Union
ISO: International Organization for Standardization
ITSO: International Telecommunications Satellite Organization
ITUC: International Trade Union Confederation
OIF: Organisation internationale de la Francophonie
PCA: Permanent Court of Arbitration
WCO: World Customs Organization
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations:
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IAEA: International Atomic Energy Agency
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
ICSID: International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes
IDA: International Development Association
IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
IFC: International Finance Corporation
ILO: International Labor Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
OPCW: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNIDO: United Nations Industrial Development Organization
UNWTO: United Nations World Tourism Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization
WMO: World Meteorological Organization
WTO: World Trade Organization
Current UN Peacekeeping Missions:
MINUSMA: Multidimensional Integrated Stabilisation Mission in Mali
UNISFA: UN Interim Security Force for Abyei
UNMISS: UN Mission in the Republic of South Sudan
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
370 Lexington Ave, Suite 401
New York, NY 10016
(212) 679-9010
(212) 679-9133

View Another Country