Saint Lucia is an island country in the southern Caribbean. One of the Windward Islands, it lies off the northeastern coast of Venezuela. Saint Lucia was initially colonized by the French, who named it after Saint Lucy of Syracuse. However, a succession of fourteen wars between Britain and France in the 17th century led the island to ultimately end up in British control before it gained independence in 1979. The country has a relatively high income per capita, but its economy relies heavily upon tourism and banana exports.

General Information
Official Name:
Saint Lucia
Geographic Region:
Geographic Size (km sq):
Year of UN Membership:
Year of Present State Formation:
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal):
$1.337 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted):
$12,887 (CID)
GDP Growth:
0.20 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI):
Gini Index (Income Inequality):
Economic Grouping:
Developing Country
Small Island Developing State
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses:
Group of 77 (G-77)
Latin America Group
Non-Aligned Movement (NAM)
Major International & Regional Organizations:
ACP: African, Caribbean, and Pacific Group of States
AOSIS: Alliance of Small Island States
Commonwealth of Nations (British)
CariCom: Caribbean Community
CD: Community of Democracies
CDB: Caribbean Development Bank
CELAC: Community of Latin American and Caribbean States
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
ISO: International Organization for Standardization
ITUC: International Trade Union Confederation
OAS: Organization of American States
OECS: Organization of Eastern Caribbean States
OIF: Organisation internationale de la Francophonie
OPANAL: Agency for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America and the Caribbean
WCO: World Customs Organization
WFTU: World Federation of Trade Unions
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations:
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
ICSID: International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes
IDA: International Development Association
IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
IFC: International Finance Corporation
ILO: International Labor Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
IMO: International Maritime Organization
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
OPCW: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNIDO: United Nations Industrial Development Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization
WTO: World Trade Organization
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
800 2nd Avenue, 5th Floor
New York, NY 10017
(212) 697-9360
(212) 697-4993

View Another Country