An island in Southeast Asia, Singapore, formally known as the Republic of Singapore, is a vibrant country located between Malaysia and Indonesia. It has a population of 5,567,301 people and is surrounded by the Straits of Johor to the north and the Singapore Strait to the south. Singapore has an area of 227 square miles (718.3 km^2), making this state over 3.5 times larger than Washington D.C. Singapore operates under a parliamentary republican government, which includes a president elected by popular vote, a prime minister selected by the president, and a Parliament. Home to some of the world’s busiest ports and financial centers, Singapore is one of the Four Asian Tigers due to its highly developed and robust economy.

General Information
Official Name: 
The Republic of Singapore
Mandarin Chinese, English
Geographic Region: 
South-Eastern Asia
Geographic Size (km sq): 
Year of UN Membership: 
Year of Present State Formation: 
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal): 
$314.105 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted): 
$67,035 (CID)
GDP Growth: 
4.10 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI): 
Gini Index (Income Inequality): 
Economic Grouping: 
Small Island Developing State
Developed Country
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses: 
Group of 77 (G-77)
Non-Aligned Movement (NAM)
Asian Group
Major International & Regional Organizations: 
ADB: Asian Development Bank
AOSIS: Alliance of Small Island States
APEC: Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation
ARF: ASEAN Regional Forum
ASEAN: Association of Southeast Asian Nations
BIS: Bank for International Settlements
Commonwealth of Nations (British)
CP: Colombo Plan
EAS: East Asia Summit
FATF: Financial Action Task Force
ICC: International Chamber of Commerce
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
IHO: International Hydrographic Organization
IMSO: International Mobile Satellite Organization
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IPU: Inter-Parliamentary Union
ISO: International Organization for Standardization
ITSO: International Telecommunications Satellite Organization
ITUC: International Trade Union Confederation
Pacific Alliance
PCA: Permanent Court of Arbitration
WCO: World Customs Organization
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations: 
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IAEA: International Atomic Energy Agency
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
ICSID: International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes
IDA: International Development Association
IFC: International Finance Corporation
ILO: International Labor Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
IMO: International Maritime Organization
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
OPCW: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization
WMO: World Meteorological Organization
WTO: World Trade Organization
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
231 East 51st Street
New York, NY 10022
(212) 826-0840/0841/0842/0843/0844
(212) 826-9453

View Another Country