Sudan, officially the Republic of Sudan, is a federal republic located in northeastern Africa. The state has a total area of 1, 861, 484 sq. kilometers, making it the 35th largest country in terms of size. It is bordered by Egypt to the north, the Red Sea to the northeast, Eritrea and Ethiopia to the east, South Sudan to the south, the Central African Republic to the southwest, Chad to the west, and Libya to the northwest. On January 1, 1956, Sudan gained independence from Egypt and the United Kingdom In July 2011, South Sudan seceded from Sudan as part of a 2005 peace agreement that ended Africa’s longest civil war.

General Information
Official Name: 
Republic of the Sudan, جمهورية السودان (Jumhūrīyat as-Sūdān)
Arabic, English
Geographic Region: 
Northern Africa
Geographic Size (km sq): 
Year of UN Membership: 
Year of Present State Formation: 
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal): 
$63.282 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted): 
$2,673 (CID)
GDP Growth: 
3.90 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI): 
Economic Grouping: 
Developing Country
Least Developed Country
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses: 
Group of 77 (G-77)
Non-Aligned Movement (NAM)
African Group
Islamic Group
Arab Group
Major International & Regional Organizations: 
ABEDA: Arab Bank for Economic Development in Africa
ACP: African, Caribbean, and Pacific Group of States
AfDB: African Development Bank
AFESD: Arab Fund for Economic and Social Development
AMF: Arab Monetary Fund
AU: African Union
CAEU: Council of Arab Economic Unity
COMESA: Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa
ICC: International Chamber of Commerce
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IDB: Islamic Development Bank
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
IGAD: Intergovernmental Authority on Development
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IOM: International Organization for Migration
IPU: Inter-Parliamentary Union
ISO: International Organization for Standardization
ITSO: International Telecommunications Satellite Organization
LAS/AL: League of Arab States, aka Arab League
OIC: Organization of Islamic Cooperation
PCA: Permanent Court of Arbitration
WCO: World Customs Organization
WFTU: World Federation of Trade Unions
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations: 
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IAEA: International Atomic Energy Agency
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
ICSID: International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes
IDA: International Development Association
IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
IFC: International Finance Corporation
ILO: International Labor Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
IMO: International Maritime Organization
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
OPCW: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNIDO: United Nations Industrial Development Organization
UNWTO: United Nations World Tourism Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization
WMO: World Meteorological Organization
WTO: World Trade Organization
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
305 East 47th Street 3 Dag Hammarskjöld Plaza, 4th Floor
New York, NY 10017
(212) 573-6033
(212) 573-6160

View Another Country